Editorial policy
The rules every page on this site has to pass before it is published.
Sourcing
- Every factual figure (a price, a dimension, a running cost, a date) comes from a source we opened, and the source is linked next to it or at the foot of the page.
- We prefer primary sources: the manufacturer's specification page, a retailer's listed price, a regulator, an official statistics body. When we have to use a secondary source, the table says so.
- A figure a source does not state is shown as "not stated". We do not fill gaps with estimates.
Checking
- Data and guides are checked against their sources before publication, and a sample is re-checked whenever the underlying data changes.
- Time-sensitive facts carry a date. Prices and product line-ups are reviewed on a schedule, monthly or quarterly depending on how fast they move.
What we will not claim
We do not claim hands-on testing we have not done. Comparisons are of published specifications. Where a claim is the manufacturer's own marketing figure, such as pump pressure or extraction time, we label it "claimed".
Safety
Espresso and coffee machines use pressurised hot water, steam and mains electricity. We point to the manufacturer's own safety and instruction guidance and do not give improvised safety advice.
Advertising and affiliate links
This site may carry advertising and, in future, affiliate links. Advertisers have no say over content. Pages containing affiliate links say so at the top. We may earn a commission if you buy through such a link, at no cost to you. Data tables are never ordered or filtered by commission.
Corrections
If you find an error, tell us through the contact page, ideally with a link to the correct source. We re-open the source, fix the record, and update the page's "checked" date.